Sex Offender Registry

The Office of Sheriff is mandated by law to register sex offenders. In an effort to enhance the effectiveness and uniformity with which this critical function is met throughout the state, the Georgia Sheriffs’ Association initiated steps to assist in this demanding task.

The Georgia Sheriffs’ Association Training Academy offers basic and annual training opportunities relative to registering, tracking, monitoring and prosecution of sex offenders. The Basic Training 101 is for newly assigned personnel who have not received formal training. The annual training conference provides ongoing support and information on advanced topics relevant to the sex offender registry. As with all training sessions, current guidelines and other pertinent information are distributed to class attendees.


Sex Offender Registry: The Basics

Location: Callaway Gardens
Date: August 20 – 21, 2018
Registration: Click Here to Register

Sex Offender Registry Management Conference

Location: Callaway Gardens
Date:  August 22 – 24, 2018
Registration: Click Here to Register


Sex Offender Registry Enforcement

The Sex Offender Registry serves as a tool to warn the public and provide a means for law enforcement to track and monitor convicted sex offenders in the community. Georgia implemented the state’s Sex Offender Registry law in July 1, 1996, followed by numerous revisions throughout the years. The current statute mandates the sheriff’s office to register all sex offenders who claim residence in the county within 72 hours after release from prison or placed on probation, parole, supervised release, or entry into the state. Registration includes the tracking, monitoring, enforcement, and prosecution of registered sex offenders in Georgia.


Sex Offender Registration Task Force

The Sex Offender Registration Task Force (SORTF) is a division of the Georgia Sheriffs’ Association that assists sheriffs’ offices in the enforcement of the registry laws. The Task Force is comprised of eleven deputies from Georgia’s ten regions, one sheriff, the GSA SORTF Advisors. The representatives are knowledgeable in all aspects of the sex offender registry law and provide technical assistance to the sheriffs’ offices regarding the enforcement of the sex offender registry statutes.

The GSA and SORTF members exchange information with sheriffs’ offices via email. If you are responsible for registering and tracking sex offenders in your county and do not receive information at least once a quarter, or if you have questions related to the enforcement of the sex offender registry law, contact the representative in your region or any member of the SORTF. See below. To determine the region you are in, view the table below.
Every August, the Georgia Sheriffs’ Association Sex Offender Registration Manual is updated and distributed at the annual training conference. It is again updated in February or March.  It is vital that every sheriff’s office obtain a copy of the most current Manual and flashdrive. The contents include:
  • 2017 Georgia Sex Offender Registry Laws
  • Georgia Sex Offender Registry Operational Guidelines
  • Model Policy
  • Sex Offender Registration Directories
  • Frequently Used Forms
  • Frequently Asked Questions
If your sheriff’s office does not have the most current manual and flashdrive, contact GSA’s Tonia Welch or Shelly Daniel.
Citizens may visit their local sheriff’s office website to view the sex offenders that reside and work in their county. You can also view the state sex offender registry at the GBI Sex Offender Registry website.

Georgia Sheriffs’ Association – Sex Offender Registration Task Force Members

Region 1: Frank Copeland, Gilmer County (Email)
Region 2: Casey Duffield, Gwinnett County (Email)
Region 3: Amanda Sullivan, Hall County (Email)
Region 4: Kelli Ellington, Troup County (Email)
Region 5: Haley Beckham, Baldwin County (Email)
Region 6: Sammy Purvis, Warren County (Email)
Region 7: Steve Clark, Grady County (Email)
Region 8: Bobby Brannen, Tift County (Email)
Region 9: Crystal Lee, Appling County (Email)
Region 10: Ronnie Bivins, Montgomery County (Email)
At Large:
Lt. Stryde Jones, Chairman, Lowndes County (Email)
Sheriff Janis Mangum, Jackson County (Email)

Tonia Welch, GSA Academy Director, SORTF Advisor (Email)

Shelly Daniel, GSA Training & Publications Coordinator (Email), SORTF Co-Advisor




Georgia Sheriffs’ Association – Sex Offender Registration Task Force Regions

Region 1 Region 2 Region 3 Region 4 Region 5 Region 6 Region 7 Region 8 Region 9 Region 10
Bartow Cherokee Banks Carroll Baldwin Bulloch Baker Atkinson Appling Ben Hill
Catoosa Clayton Barrow Chattahoochee Bibb Burke Calhoun Bacon Bryan Bleckley
Chattooga Cobb Clarke Coweta Butts Candler Clay Berrien Camden Crisp
Dade DeKalb Dawson Fayette Crawford Columbia Decatur Brantley Chatham Dodge
Douglas Forsyth Elbert Harris Greene Effingham Dougherty Brooks Evans Dooly
Fannin Fulton Franklin Heard Hancock Emanuel Early Charlton Glynn Irwin
Floyd Gwinnett Habersham Marion Houston Glascock Grady Clinch Jeff Davis Johnson
Gilmer Henry Hall Meriwether Jasper Jefferson Lee Coffee Liberty Laurens
Gordon Newton Hart Muscogee Jones Lincoln Macon Colquitt Long Montgomery
Haralson Rockdale Jackson Pike Lamar McDuffie Miller Cook McIntosh Pulaski
Murray Walton Lumpkin Spalding Monroe Richmond Mitchell Echols Tattnall Telfair
Paulding Madison Talbot Morgan Screven Quitman Lanier Wayne Tift
Pickens Oconee Taylor Peach Taliaferro Randolph Lowndes Lowndes  Treutlen
Polk Oglethorpe Troup Putnam  Toombs Schley Pierce  Turner
 Walker Rabun Upson Wilkinson  Warren Seminole Thomas  Twiggs
 Whitfield Stephens  Washington Stewart Ware  Wheeler
Towns  Wilkes Sumter  Wilcox
Union Terrell  Worth
White Webster
At Large SORTF Representatives: Lowndes, Georgia Sheriffs’ Association